top of page
  • Writer's picturesomethingabouthayley

Self Love on a Sunday......


Why are we not happy with ourselves? And why do we think we’re not good enough...?


I don’t know the answer and I’m not sure anyone does but I’d love to know why we feel like we never quite hit the mark.


We live in a time where we compare ourselves to everyone. Other woman have this/have that, are skinnier/fatter/stronger. But why can’t we see what we have and celebrate that?


The rise of social media means we see more of other people, their homes, their lives, how they parent, what they eat.....I could go on....


Recently I’ve been on social media more and I love it.....I love seeing people I wouldn’t normally connect with day to day, because of distance or the fact that our paths haven’t crossed, I love how it keeps people in touch, I like seeing people’s chapters and stories.....but I hate the way we use this platform to sometimes feel we aren’t as good as everyone else. We’ve all been there.....


I’m a big believer in girls supporting girls and being kind to each other so the fact that so many of us are feeling inadequate makes me really sad.


I’ve thought about it quite a lot and I don’t think there is a simple answer. People share the best parts of their life whether that be what they share with their friends when they are hanging out, on social media, at work in the canteen whilst or chatting to their work colleagues. We don’t share the crap days, the ‘not-so-nice’ bits or the insecurities.


So I thought I’d create some declarations below that we can all use, adhere to, and remember.....to help us be a little bit kinder, kinder to each other but more importantly kinder to ourselves.


1) It’s ok you ate the McDonalds and a whole pack on biscuits last Tuesday because you were due on.

2) It’s ok you post pictures of your healthy dinner and then eat a packet of crisps because you fancied them.

3) It’s ok that you skipped the gym or that workout class.

4) Don’t compare yourself to the girl who is always at the gym. That suits her. It might not suit you.

5) It’s great to be a working mum. You’re doing awesome job.

6) Its great to be a stay at home mum you’re doing an awesome job.

7) Breast or bottle.....What matters is that your children are fed. Both are amazing and you’re doing an awesome job.

8) She has more followers than you. Both of you are wonderful.

9) It’s ok you didn’t buy a brand new outfit.

10) The stretch marks are beautiful. They are your warrior lines.

11) It’s ok to wobble when you wear that bikini.

12) Don‘t worry if you cancel your plans because you just want an evening to yourself...

13) It doesn’t matter what colour your house is painted what matters is that is feels like a home and it makes you happy.

14) Beauty comes in all different forms.

15) Life doesn’t have to look perfect to be perfect.

16) Remember you are good enough.


If you have anymore please add them. We need to learn to love ourselves a little more. ❤️

94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page